Ian was born in Banff and brought up in the small fishing village of Whitehills on the Banffshire coast.

He was educated at Whitehills Primary School, followed by his secondary education at Banff Academy. On leaving school, he went on to Aberdeen University for four years, graduating with 1st class Honours in Biochemistry and continued at Aberdeen University for a further four years leading to a Doctor of Philosophy degree.

His scientific career started as a Research Fellow for two years in the Biochemistry Dept. Liverpool University. He then returned to Aberdeen to lecture in the Dept of Chemical Pathology. This role involved a) the teaching of clinical biochemistry to medical students and b) providing the clinical biochemistry service to Grampian Health Board. After a period of transitional roles between the University and Grampian Health Board he moved full time to the Health Service where his specialist role was as a Consultant Clinical Scientist in the Health Service providing a service for a) the detection and monitoring of Inherited Metabolic Diseases and b) Antenatal Screening for Neural Tube Defects and Downs Syndrome.

Ian is married to Isobel and they have one son -Christopher and two grandsons - Charlie and Ralphie who keep him busy in his retirement.

Leisure pursuits over the years have included football training at Meiklemill School for about 30 years, watching Peterhead and Aberdeen Football Clubs and more recently walking football. This has been interspersed by the odd round of golf.

In his year as President of Ellon & District Probus Club, Ian would like to build more liaison with other Probus Clubs and organisations

The Handover

At the AGM on 25th  October 2018, Ian was installed as the new President for 2019.

 Our picture shows the official handover by Ken McDade the immediate past President


New Committee:  2018/19

President: Ian White

Senior Vice-President: Colin Grant

Junior Vice-President: Neil Trainor

Secretary: Graham McCombie

Deputy Secretary: Duncan Castles

Treasurer: Charles Reid

Deputy Treasurer: Stephen Watt

Convener of Speakers: Norman Davidson

Committee (IPP): Ken McDade

Committee: Gordon Mincher

Committee: Gordon Porter

Committee: Brian Smith

Committee Meetings 2019

(To be held in RBL immediately after the talk)

Thursday 14th February

Thursday 9th May

Thursday, 22nd  August

Thursday, 14th November